Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Today was my last day at UBC, and I have to admit that it makes me a little sad to be leaving. I’m going to miss the scenic campus (albeit rather large, but that might just be due to having stayed on Columbia’s minuscule and compact one for the last year), the laid-back west coast atmosphere, the lovely ocean breeze that carries the scent of roses and lavender and other flowers I don’t know the names of. And the houses around the area are some of the most gorgeous I’ve ever seen anywhere. You know, it wouldn’t be so bad to maybe live here one day; after all, it is the most livable city in the world. Or at least I’d want my parents to stay here so I can visit in the summer months. It does rain rather much for my taste in the winter. It’s strange that during the 7 years I’ve lived here, I’ve always taken for granted the beauty of the place. I guess you can never quite fully appreciate an experience until you look back on it through the lens of time, or, if you’re luck enough, until you re-experience it.

P1070109The Nitobe Memorial Gardens on campus. Enchanting place.

P1070133UBC Rose Garden with the Pacific and mountains in the backdrop.

My supervisor brought a cake for all the volunteer at the lab today, and it was chocolatey, moussey, toffee-y goodness. We were all talking about about med school (quite a few members of our lab is in the middle of MCATs and applications right now… dammit peer pressure) and my supervisor brought up how it’s really hard to come back to Canada to practice if you get your degree/license in another country. Apparently only 10 out of approximately 500 applicants get approved each year. Yikes. So if I want to live in Vancouver someday it’s probably not the wisest thing to go to med school in the States eh? Ah well… too far into the future. Thinking about it gives me a headache. So I’m not going to.

Had dinner at Boston Pizza tonight for Kristin and Morgan’s 19th birthday :) Saw a lot of high school friends I haven’t seen in at least half a year, so it was really nice, an excellent way to end my stay in BC this time around.

P1070230Me with the birthday girls!

So this is goodbye for now, but I’ll be back here again soon enough :) Thanks for all the loveliness.

Tags: , ,

